Massachusetts arborists Association

Log in

Vision - Integrity - Service - Talent - Action

VISTA Award Overview

The VISTA award is the most important honor the association can bestow upon one of its members.  It was created to recognize truly outstanding tree care professionals whose acts and deeds serve as a guide and challenge for all members of the industry. 

The award’s title is an acronym for Vision, Integrity, Service, Talent, and Action – the leadership qualities inherent in all award recipients.

Congratulations! Ron Yaple, MCA and Kevin Cleveland, MCA present Trumbull Barrett, MCA (center) with the VISTA Award.

Congratulations to TRUMBULL BARRETT, MCA
2023 VISTA Award Recipient

On April 25, 2023, Trumbull Barrett, MCA was presented with MAA’s prestigious VISTA Award.  A record-setting crowd of colleagues, friends, and family gathered at The German Club to celebrate with Trumbull as he received his VISTA award. Trumbull’s friend, Ron Yaple, MCA, traveled “all the way” from Western Mass. to make the presentation that began with a reminiscent slide show and was followed by a standing ovation. Here are excerpts from Ron’s remarks that evening:

“I’ve known the Barrett family since 1975.  Trumbull’s father David worked with the refined end of trees—he owned Berkshire Millwork where I met him through my employment at New England Log Homes. Dave was salt-of-the-earth: hard-working, honest, and kind, smart, humble, and brimming with integrity.  And in that, in part, I just described his son Trumbull.  The apple did not roll far from the tree.”

“Ultimately, Trumbull moved to Urbania (the Berkshires’ loss).  He established Barrett Tree Service East for which he achieved TCIA accreditation.  He attained his MCA designation.  He was elected to the Board of MAA in 2014 and subsequently became President in 2020, the year COVID crept around the globe.  He led MAA through 2020 and was, to quote Virginia Wood, ‘particularly influential in balancing both sides of who was considered an essential worker. Trumbull is an extremely wise leader.’”

“I would add that in talking with his associates it’s clear that he has developed a human-centric business model, a model to be respected and pursued. Aren’t we deeply fortunate to work with and honor Trumbull with the VISTA Award.”



MAA members are encouraged to nominate colleagues for VISTA award consideration.  Please write a letter to the MAA board of directors with the name of your nominee and include the reasons why you believe he/she should receive the VISTA award.  Take the award’s purpose and title into consideration when crafting your nomination letter.  Be specific, cite examples, include details and, if possible, ask for letters of support for your nominee from other members.  Nomination letters may be sent via regular mail or e-mail to:

VISTA Award  - MAA Board of Directors
67 West Street, Medfield, MA  02052  (“VISTA Award” in Subject Line please)


  • October 10 - Deadline for submission of VISTA nominees and letters of support
  • Late October - Board members review nominations and deliberate
  • Early November - Final decision is made regarding VISTA recipient
  • Nov/Dec - VISTA recipient is notified/presenter selected
  • February - VISTA recipient announced at annual meeting
  • March - Announcement made via meeting notice/speech written
  • April - VISTA Award presented at membership meeting

Past Recipients:
2000 - Mark Tobin, MCA
2001 - Ron Despres, MCA
2002 - Matt Foti, MCA
2003 - Dennis Ryan, MCA
2004 - Will Maley, MCA
2005 - M. Virginia Wood, CMP
2006 - George Mellick, MCA
2007 - Henry Davis III, MCA (Ret.)
2008 - Cricket Vlass, MCA
2009 - Carl A. Cathcart, MCA
2010 - James Abusamra, MCA
2011 - Ellis Allen, MCA
2012 - Robert Childs
2013 - Mike Lueders, MCA, MCLP
2014 - Scott McPhee, MCA
2016 - Ron Yaple, MCA
2017 - Lenny Cleaves, MCA
2018 - Bob Greymont, MCA
2019 - Richard Herfurth, MCA
2020 - Andy Felix, MCA
2022 - Rip Tompkins, MCA
2023 - Trumbull Barrett, MCA

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software